FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
2015 FJR-1300ESF
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Not an FJR owner yet, but considering it. Looked at 3 yesterday: a 2008, 2009, and 2016, with anywhere from 153k miles (the 2008) to about 3000 (!) miles on the 2016.

I've only owned and ridden Suzuki Vstroms since I started riding, about 6 years ago. First a 2007 DL1000, then after an idiot totaled it (and took a shot at totaling me), the 2019 DL650XT Touring you see as my avatar.

Has anyone gone from Vstrom to FJR? I know there are some with both - I've already recognized a regular or two from the Stromtrooper forums. Figured I'd ask the largest likely group of FJR folks I could find.

So why am I considering an FJR?

Lately I've been wanting a more touring-oriented bike. Despite the model designation, the 2019 DL650XT "Touring" is not working as such for me and my SO. Wind noise & turbulence is so bad on the highway that I can't stand to go anywhere solo even.

Yes, I could probably address most of the problems, with enough effort and spending on upgrades. But I don't wanna.

I've considered other sport-touring makes, but for now I'm looking at FJR's. Specifically, used FJR's. Even if I had "new bike" budget, which I don't, local Yamaha shop tells me they're not expecting any 2022 FJR's until maybe November.

BMW and Honda are out of the running. I don't have a BMW or Goldwing budget, nor do I want the weight of a K1600 or Wing.

I did briefly shop for Honda ST1300's. Seems like they're all really old - 2003 or 2007 are easy to find, but some don't have ABS, and of course they were discontinued in what 2012? Don't want old-bike problems, went through that with the 2007 Vstrom. Do want ABS, electronic cruise control and other nicer newer features, so I'm looking at a 3rd-gen FJR 1300A or 1300ES.