FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
but can't decide.

I'm new here and this is my first post so if I'm asking something that's super "newbie" I apologize.

I like the color and heated grips of the AE but the tranny has me second guessing whether or not to go with it.

Any opinions or thoughts as to why one would go one way or the other would be appreciated

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hi There: Gee, I don't know. I have been riding bikes for 35 years and I really like being cutting edge. :lol: ...... but not the bleeding edge :shock: . It sounds really impressive, but I think I will wait a bit until it has been tried and truly tested. I just bought my 04 and will play with it for at least another year but will definately put the new version (non AE version) on the next buy list. Then after that maybe put the AE version on the next to buy list

·
Registered
2,414 Posts
There has been a lot of discussion on this topic already, but the fact is, no-one has ridden one, so everything is guess work at this stage. In my opinion, this system will be good. They have been using similar systems in road racing, drag racing, and cars for some time now, so it must work.

On the other hand, it's not usually a good idea to get the first model with new technology. There are always kinks to be ironed out. My advice is, go for it, then report back here so we can make up our minds. :lol:

·
Registered
38 Posts
A vs AE.......

Given the engineering expertise Yamaha seems to have I don't think I'd be concerned about the reliability of the AE. However, as I simply prefer shifting I ordered the A, and of course it's less $$$, too.