FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm a new owner of a 2008 FJR... I'm interested in drifting the bike a bit more towards SPORT..
I have a set of new springs for the front to put in (maybe tomorrow)...
But what about the rear?
Any of you guys have experience/knowledge about good shock improvements?

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
I'd suggest you get a "LIGHTER Sport / racing" bike if you are planning to ride with R6's, CBR's and Geexers...FJR is really a pig and not very flickable...yes it has some sportiness in it and can be ridder spirited,... but honestly it's a great Touring 2up bike

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, I vastly understand that the FJR is not an R1.

I'm an old dealership tech, (three shops). I've had 27 motorcycles. I recently bought this Feejer for use on the big US highways, and I certainly don't expect it to be have the "Sporting" capabilities of my other two bikes- a Track-modded GSF1200 Bandit and an equivalent SV1000S. Those bikes will give me any Sport requirements that I want.

I bought the FJR specifically for touring; the Bandit has been around the nation for many years with great awards for it's huge service....but getting Long in the Tooth, so I needed a better Open Road bike. I want it to handle as best as possible for the engineering they gave itm which usually means suspension improvements. After years of Track time and setting-up customer's bikes, I can see the need immediately with this bike.

But yeah.. the bike's function will be 80% Highway. I just want it to be Premium to it's engineered capabilities.

·
Registered
2009 FJR 1300AE
431 Posts
Yes, I vastly understand that the FJR is not an R1.