FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Scotts

I have been using one for ~12000 miles.

It's cool to change oil and not throw something away, I have had no problems and it looks cool.

Otherwise,I don't think it adds anything.

·
Registered
47 Posts
My riding bud got one. Payoff occurs after 14 changes or so ($100/$7), it certainly has the bling look to it. Some have mentioned (and I agree) the difficulty in thoroughly cleaning the mesh element, I have seen this on older Yamis I had with a factory mesh element. It has also been stated that the mesh doesn't filter as finely as a good paper filter does. Comparisons have been made to the Oberg race filter used in most if not all Nascar motors, what isn't mentioned is that these engines recieve a complete rebuild after every race, another example of the fact that whats good in racing doesn't necessarily translate to good in street use. A plus is the fact you have a clear picture of what the motor is dumping metal wise. If you have the dough to spend, why not?

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
OK, so both paint & radman, whats the bottem line if I going to keep my 04 for awhile (I still have the cb1100f, euro version, motor wise that I bought new in 83)(mind you I've had afew used inbetween 7-8 I think) Time ie mulitpe oil changes will cover the cost so yes or no :?

·
Registered
949 Posts
Changing engine oil is a dirty bloody job at the best of times. It's got me puzzled why anyone would decide to spend time cleaning out a filter assembly with questionable minimum particle size filtration versus a quality disposable filter. Racing oriented products are generally biased towards ultimate engine output not longevity.