FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the FJR, the reason for my purchase was for pillion work, but l have just done a big solo trip through Spain/France.
I love the bike, but coming from a VFR l miss the handling, sometimes the FJR feels great in corners, but on others feels like a old barge :?
I did manage to get the pegs down :mrgreen:

On my VFR l had ohlins fork springs and rear shock, loads of money :(
I know the suspension could be better on the FJR, l think it still has the original shock 23,000 miles so probably shot :(

So the question is what shock to go for, and best set up, for forks and shock?????? I am 12.5 stone and my pillion 10 stone.

Someone suggested Maxton any feed back??? :ale: :ale:

·
Registered
192 Posts
rear shock

I don't know if you have access to penske shocks, but if you do a company here in the USA called Traxxion makes a custom sport shock that works great. Multiple adjustments and it really changes the FJR's handling, especially in the corners. Cost is about $625 US. It's a Penske shock just customized by Traxxion. They have a website but not sure of the address. Just google Traxxion.

·
Registered
439 Posts
Rear Shock

For what it's worth I've had the Southampton (linkage) mod on my 03 since new which raises the rear slightly, this gives a better feel going into to a corner. I have just replaced the OEM shock after 24K miles with a Hagon unit. I'm 266lb and with the wife on the rear who is another 180lb the ride is now better than it ever was. Had a good 140 mile run with her on the back round the North Wales roads the other weekend and I was very well pleased with the result.

Brian

·
Registered
149 Posts