FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New Member, not a new Owner. I've already read a few of these so I'll just introduce myself and say Hello/thank you.

I currently have a 98 VFR800 (5th gen). I ride nearly every day if the weather is 50F or above and not raining. I started riding again this year.

By next spring, I would like to include my wife so I have been keeping my eyes open for gear and reading everything I can on Sport touring bikes. I think I have narrowed it down to the FJR for quite a few reasons. Also based on what I have read and $$, I'm leaning toward 2008-2012. There are a lot of 2005's out there for sale.....

My wife (of 30 yrs) has a disability so something with a backrest is a must for her comfort. She is afraid of sliding off the back (VFR). We have ridden together in the past but it has been a long time and we aren't getting any younger. I think she has some reservations due to her disability. I'm not pushing her but I say we are getting older, you only live once and if it doesn't work out, our loss will be minimal. I know she will love it if she is able. I love the VFR but can't take more than about 4 hrs on it so would likely keep the FJR anyway.

Prices seem crazy right now so I'm biding my time, learning what I can. Maybe by this winter used prices will back off some. In the meantime if something pops up.... I would like to find something in driving distance but not opposed to shipping something but that may be a little nerve racking buying used sight unseen.

I'll be reading a lot, any tips you have in the meantime will be appreciated. I presume there are threads on sub frame damage from a top box etc. around here. :)

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Sp00ks,

Welcome to the FJR sandbox! Pull up a seat, and relax.