FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2009 FJR1300
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody. I just got my 2009 black FJR this weekend.
I live in Palatine, just 35mi NW from Chicago, but I came to the US from Poland where I was riding a bike until I was 23. After over 25 years of being off the bike, I started riding again a couple of years ago. I would greatly appreciate some advice regarding the bike, but also nice rides around my area. I hope to meet you on the road. Below is my new bike and also the "his and hers" photo....

Wheel Tire Fuel tank Automotive fuel system Vehicle

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Automotive lighting Automotive tire

Wheel Tire Vehicle Land vehicle Car

Wheel Tire Vehicle Car Automotive tail & brake light

·
Registered
2009 FJR1300
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Howdy. Welcome to the forum.

Advice? The screws holding the saddlebag locks to the cases: The dealers was supposed to Locktite them in place. I'd take a few minutes to check. You will need a T10 Security Torx bit and some blue Locktite. If you do not have one, Harbor Freight sells a set of security bits for about $7.

The torque specs for the engine oil drain bolt is too high. The "book" says 31 lb-ft. That tight and you risk stripping the bolt out. The specs of the final drive drain bolt (same size bolt into the same kind of aluminum cast is 17 lb-ft, a more reasonable figure.

Specs for the nut securing the rear axle is 90 lb-ft. 75 lb-ft is more reasonable.

Tire pressures: Many of us, by experiment, are running around 40FR/42RR. Book says 36 PSI front. I think 36 PSI leads to excessive cupping on the front.
Thank you John.