FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks!
I just put a deposit down on a spankin' 2008 FJR, Mint condition, paid five Grand. It's out in Detroit, (I'm in New York), so I'll have to take a flight out to get it... then ride it back.

I've owned 26 motorcycles over 40 years. I have a lovely Bandit 1200, tastefully modded, with 165,000 miles on it, (yes I've rebuilt the motor myself - I was a Suzuki tech).. I've done a LOT of Touring on the Bandit, including two trips across the US... But I need a better rig for the Long Road.

I've looked at the FJR for years... liked it but have been put off by the WEIGHT. Anyway, I came across this crisp example and just had to pull the trigger!

My intention is to SPORT it up just a tad--- Most guys want more Upright; I want a LOWER lean. A German company makes a handlebar conversion kit... I expect to do a fender eliminator... and I don't plan on using the side cases on it much (that could change!).

QUESTION: I notice that some aftermarket exhausts will cause the bike to POP and spit on Decel... can't have that with any of my bikes... Can anyone recommend mufflers that will bring up the Sound without the Popping?

Ah! So! Happy to be here, and I expect you will see a few posts from me; I'm a big poster on other sites such as Bandit Forums, SV Riders (I have an SV1000S), and was a Homesteader on the old Cycle World forums.

SO... I'll be needing your help!!
:p

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Popping is usually caused by gas leaks at the joint between the cans and the headers. These joints should be sealed with the proper Yamaha soft metal seals as shown in the attached picture, items 7 & 10.. Get new seals when you fit the after market cans.

Reactions: 4day

·
Registered
3,515 Posts