FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Nearly bought an LCD TV. Had my hand in pocket for plastic when the salesman mentions screen burn and pixel drop out.

Manufacturer reckons 180 pixels dropped is within spec ....

In their dreams maybe but not mine .....

Anybody suffer from this .. seem to remember a previous thread.

Is it common ?

·
Registered
163 Posts
I have two LCD TV's. A Sharp for the kitchen (little guy) and a Sony for the den (big guy). No problems with either. Don't notice any missing pixels. Both are going on 3 years old...

I was originally going to get a plasma for the den, but heard of too many 'burning' problems. Looks like they've resolved those issues.

·
Registered
122 Posts
I'm no expert but I saw one on TV saying that LCD is good for viewing in bright conditions and plasma in low light.. or the other way around. Sorry I can't remember which, but worth asking before you hand over the hard earned pennies.
IMHO we are being jerked off something shocking here in Oz with the intro if digital TV. They 1st sell us a converter box so our old set will work, then they sell us new widesreen super duper hi res screens and still need a bloody box, and then another if you want to to video tape. Whatever happened to one appliance for one purpose. I won't be buying one til I can plug in one TV set and watch it ( for under $1000)
oops... fell off the soapbox... I'm fine now :)

·
Premium Member
2,982 Posts
@Andy: Foxtel digital; LG Plasma Hi-def (no extra box reqd as it includes a Hi-def/digital tuner whatever) and your VCR/DVD recorder. If you want to make the walls shake you will need to add the right theatre sound for you.

For $1,000 - not for a long while yet, so let's just enjoy riding for now.

·
Registered
191 Posts