FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Winter's approaching. The knuckle guard farkle seems ideal. Dutifully ordered the parts and after waiting a few weeks for the back order the bits arrived yesterday. Suzuki V-Strom donor knuckle guards anf fittings as per FJRTech.com farkle.

I spent half the day trying to figure out how it all fits. The only conclusion I can come to is - it DOESN'T, not even close. I studied and re-studied the instructions and pictures on the website. No use. At all. It won't fit. At least not on a 2002 UK spec bike.

It is possible, of course, I am a total idiot. I would like know if anyone else tried this farkle and should there be any differences in the models this information should be included in the farkle to save folk money.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Mark, they do indeed fit. Look closely at the pictures in this thread. The long hex bolt sits above the lever and uses the existing hole in this position. You have to remove the screw first with a flat head(?) screwdriver. Once in and bolted the handguard slips into place and is retained by the philips head screws. If the bolts will not fit, you may have the wrong suzuki part #'s.

http://st64.startlogic.com/~fjrforum/forum//index.php?showtopic=3782

·
Registered
234 Posts
Hand Guards

Did you order the part numbers specified in the farkel from FJRTech.com?
And your following the 'How to' instructions on FJRTech.com?
!00's of folks, myself included, have installed these.
DO NOT GET FRUSTRATED!
Do you know of someone near you, who has these?
Can you talk him into helping you?
Dont get pissed! It will work!

·
Registered
122 Posts
These part No are for the knuckle guards that don't wrap right around. ( V strom DL 1000, 2002 I think) Definately fit on the FJ. All part No below and quantiy is all that is required.