FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am an FJR newbie having just purchased an immaculate bone stock '03 w/ 15,000 mi.
Anyway I searched the site for the recomended order of upgrades and found none. I am thinking radar detector first, and then who knows.
Suggestions from the old timers would be greatly appreciated.
Maybe this should be a poll, or you could direct me to the right place.
Thanks,
Bruce
What's with the training wheels?

·
Registered
372 Posts
Farkling priorities depends on your riding style somewhat, starting with a radar detector does suggest a wise safeguard of cash flow, though not infallable. You might want to consider protecting your baby with a radiator guard, a fenda-extenda. Sliders, BikeJohnny sells the Moko's that avoid drilling the fairing or the R&G's that go thru the fairing, protects in the event of a drop or low speed slide. A Throttlelock is handy. Paint protection lots of options from clear Tankslapper to carbonfibre look MagKnight. The list just goes on and on.
Some cool applications/mods over at FJRtech.com too.
The key is just ride and see what you think. Have fun with it, and welcome to the fold Bruce.
John

·
Registered
191 Posts
Get a harness from fjrandy and some MagnumBlasters from hornsplusauto.com so you can be heard when not seen.

Frame sliders. Put them on when you get them, not right after you drop it for the first time!

Cromeit heat mod stuff (just in case!).

A mount (whatever looks best to you) for a GPS. It's really fun to go explore "unknown" roads then punch in "navigate home."

Have fun!

·
Registered
141 Posts
The frame sliders are a must I've lost count of the amount of times people have dropped it then ordered some (me included!)

Did I mention the sliders?

·
Registered
119 Posts
Sliders. Definitely sliders.