FJR Owners Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wife finally gave me clearance for a new sled. I'm new to the S/T world. FJR is #1 on list. Found a cherry 05 (non abs) for 10k with 1900mi. It will come with Y.E.S. With all the announced improvements on 06, should I pounce or not? $$ is really a non-issue, as long as I can stay below 15k. Ther's no doubt I will be an FJR owner, just don't know which one yet.

·
Registered
7,364 Posts
In JAX, you have a higher statistical probability of heat complaints. Do you work to solve the heat on an '05, if it affects you, or hope that Yamaha delivers on their "better airflow" on the '06? Would you appreciate less weight, or heavier weight with more features?

Probably the most effective question to ask; what kind of bike are you coming from? (If it's a sport or VFR-like machine, you might appreciate the '05 more. If it's a cruiser or GoldWing, I'm thinking the '06 may fit better... but nobody I know has ridden one to tell for sure.)

Yamaha has had the '06s turning wheels for quite some time now, enough to take lots of promo photos... but why haven't they given any mules to the bike journos for reviews? Hmmmmmmm. :oops:

:)

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your input. I formally had a 02 Interceptor but then switched to the HD world but found that to be full of posers and low performance. Sold the Fatboy and am ready to tilt the horizon again. I also have an r1200gs on my want list but can't justify the higher operating cost and dealer support (lack of). I can only have one bike (wife rule) so I need to make it a good one.

·
Registered
558 Posts
Go for 06, we need some Guinea Pigs on here before the rest of us commit..... :D

Looking at where you are located, would seem to make sense to go for the 06 where the, so called, heat issue has been addressed..

·