FJR Owners Forum banner

gear-drive problem

4K views 29 replies 11 participants last post by  Mr_Ed 
#1 ·
Hi Friends. I am new to this blog. I have a 2006 FJR 1300A (manual shift shaft drive) that has developed a strange problem. As the bike warms up, it gradually loses traction in all gears. The engine continues to operate properly, and I can change gears normally, but there is less and less traction. It is as if the drive disengages from the gears, no traction. I had to have my bike towed home when I was unable to get up a hill near home. I changed the shaft drive oil, changed the regular oil with 10w-40, and checked the radiator. Still continues to die. Any insights would be greatly appreciated. Also, I am in the Rockville, MD area and would like recommendations for dealerships or mechanics nearby who can service my bike.
Sincerely,
Mike V.
301-802-8855

#2 ·
How many miles on this thing? Sounds like clutch is slipping. Causes can be, worn clutch lever pivot, worn brass bushing in clutch lever, master cylinder sticking (which also begs the question, do you bleed it annually?), sticky slave cylinder, and of course, worn clutch plates.
Suggest the obvious simple things first before diving into the clutch, however, likely time to inspect the plates for wear and condition Have you been using automotive oil with friction modifiers?

#5 · (Edited)
As long as oil without friction modifiers is used, automotive oils are fine. I used it for the first 10 yrs in my FJR.

I disagree with the lever/bushing comment. That problem causes the clutch to stick closed. But I do agree with it being a clutch related problem.

#6 ·
One thing I would ask is does it have the stock levers, specifically the clutch lever ? Several here including me have had trouble with aftermarket levers causing the clutch to slip. It does sound like the clutch is slipping.

Reactions: Mr_Ed
#10 ·
That particular problem:

- showed up only on the Gen3, OP has an '06 Gen2;