2012 Hard to put on Center Stand - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 41Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 66 (permalink) Old 07-23-2020, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
Training wheels fitted!

2012 Hard to put on Center Stand

Hi all, newbie here and wondering where I can find specs for my new ride. I just picked up a 2012 and having a bitch to put It on center stand. My first thought was the bike was lowered. I have a 36” inseam so I don’t want it lowered. My front end is very easy to see that my forks are level to the tree but the rear I measure the dogbone to be ~7.5” center to center of bolts. Something is going on because as soon as I put the front wheel on a 3/4” plywood I can use the center stand very easily. Appreciate any ideas....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 66 (permalink) Old 07-23-2020, 01:44 PM
High-G FJR Junkie!

Dogbones stock @ 190mm/7.5"... Fork tubes flush to top of triple clamp, aren't lowered. Rear shock spring allowing some sag, more difficult. Many have put plywood under a wheel. Many will tell you about technique. Gen3 shock will help with its higher spring rate. Shorter dogbones will raise the rear (roughly 2.7:1 ratio). 190/55 rear tire will raise rear by 1/4"+ (differing OD's of tires).

Ray
Keep yer stick on the ice....
2014 FJR1300A - Root Beer (sold)
2009 CBF1000A - Sienna Red
1999 VFR800Fi - Pearl Shining Yellow
post #3 of 66 (permalink) Old 07-23-2020, 02:53 PM
Trainee Sport Tourer