New to me 05 fjr smells super rich - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-12-2019, 09:52 AM Thread Starter
Training wheels fitted!

New to me 05 fjr smells super rich

First sports bike and i love it. After putting 400 miles on it i have noticed a potential problem. It smells super rich at idle, even after its at operating temp. Ive run seafoam through a tank and no change. The bike sat at the dealer for 8 months so i figured bad gas. But now i think one of the cylinders is loading up on fuel. Above 3000 rpms and on acceleration it does great. But at small throttle openings and cruising it has a wierd bumble. I have put the bike away til i sort it out for fear of washing out a cylinder. I researched for a competent yami mech and got an estimate for plugs t/b sync valve set and 45k
Mile service for 1000 bucks! I am a diesel mechanic so im no stranger to wrenching on stuff but this bike may as well be a space craft. But to save 1000 i think im going to take a crack at it. Where should i start? The yamaha shop is 1.5 hours away so kinda leary on riding it that far. Where should i start?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-12-2019, 10:28 AM
High-G FJR Junkie!

Howdy. Welcome to the forum.

If you are already an engine mechanic, an FJR should be no problem. There are plenty of on-line resources.

45,000 miles is a low mileage figure for an FJR. OTOH, it is a 20 year old bike. Now, I'm just a semi-competent shade tree mechanic and I do not have a lot of experience with FJRs as I am only on my first one, but here is what I would do:
Pick up a shop manual.
Flush the gas tank.
Change all the fluids, especially if you do not have a documented service history.
Look for vacuum leaks.
Other than access, changing plugs and doing a TBS present no difficulties.
Valve clearance is generally not a problem except for access.