2009 my first maintenance and she won't run smooth. - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 2Likes
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Unread 09-08-2019, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
Training wheels fitted!

2009 my first maintenance and she won't run smooth.

Hey all I'm at a loss. I'm a novice wrencher and I have had my 2009 for five years where I average 5000 miles /yr on it. Never had any issues and I'd do the oil/tire changes. I recently hit the 50k mile mark and it was starting to run rough. I thought it might be a plug issue so I replaced them and all looked fine with the old ones as far as wear goes. In the process of getting to the plugs I broke the plastic barb off the fuel pump. I Ordered a used one from Ebay to try to save some $$ but that was a mistake as it didn't work(wires visibly worn thru insulation, didn't see fuel gauge on the display, didn't turn pump on when i bumped the key). I scavenged the exterior piece off the Ebay crap and installed it on the interior pump portion as that looked like it was new anyway. No leaks, Pump comes on for a few seconds when key hits on but I cant get her to stay running.
I used starter fluid and she'll run great till that is gone so I assume my spark plugs are all fine. I charged the battery over night and left it disconnected while doing so and this morning I can get it to start but she is sputtering and I'm working the crap out of the throttle to keep her struggling but she hasn't smoothed out.
I thought I might have air in the fuel rail but I would assume that it should have worked out by now. I disconnected the fuel line where it connects to the fuel rail and she pumps fuel when the pump is on so that seems right. I don't smell gas at the mufflers so I think its still starving for fuel.
Excepting all ideas for a solution....
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Unread 09-08-2019, 02:06 PM
Trainee Sport Tourer