Very little brake pedal (rear) - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
Training wheels fitted!

Unhappy Very little brake pedal (rear)

2008 AE with 63,000 pampered and well maintained miles. I cannot step on the brake pedal and get any braking like I have been used to. If I pump it a couple of times I can get some braking. If I slowly go down with the pedal, it will go almost to the bottom before I get any braking. Fluid is full. Zero leaks anywhere....ever. After my last long ride, about 1,500 miles I had let the bike sit in heated garage for a couple of years. It has been in a heated garage all of its life and the only wet is rain if I cannot avoid. I started riding a little recently and noticed the problem. I have stabbed the pedal, hard, several times, thinking there was a stuck valve...no change. I hope I do not have serious ABS or other valve issues as I am planning a 4,000 mile trip late September. What are your thoughts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 03:26 PM
red
FJR Top Gun

Very little brake pedal (rear)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2mountains View Post
2008 AE with 63,000 pampered and well maintained miles. I cannot step on the brake pedal and get any braking like I have been used to. If I pump it a couple of times I can get some braking. What are your thoughts.
2mountains,

Sounds like you need to bleed the brakes. I assume that the AE has linked brakes, so you need to bleed one of the front calipers first (using the rear brake pedal), then the rear caliper. You can find the exact procedure in old posts, here. Maybe somebody here can chime in with that process, or a link to that process.