FJR Owners Forum banner

Time for a new CCT, new chain too ?

3K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  RaYzerman 
#1 ·
After reading many posts on replacing the CCT on Gen1 bikes, I am about to order one with new gasket too for my '04 ABS with just over 60K on it. Is anyone replacing their cam chain at the same time, or is the original cam chain still good to go ? I do not hear any bad noises when just cranked and cold, perhaps a tiny bit of chain slop idling and nothing when warmed up or riding. What do the more experienced masters of the wrench say ?

#2 ·
Well, I am not an expert, but I do have an opinion.

If the FJR was a performance oriented bike, and/or you thought of it as "performance oriented" then it never hurts to replace a cam chain, even with only 60,000.

As the chain wears, and they all wear, cam timing is changed and there is a small loss of performance. Nothing I would ever notice, but still there.

Also, if you keep the FJR another 60,000 then there will be another minor performance hit.

On the other hand, several folks have put 2-300,000 on their FJR's and I don't think anyone has had a chain break. {someone recently had an oil pump chain break, and several have had engines grenade and blamed it on CCT's}.

So, unless you are REALLY, REALLY anal, you shouldn't change the cam chain out at 60,000. IMHO

Reactions: swamp shark
#9 · (Edited)
Thanks Phil for remembering me and my oil pump chain, I recently replaced my cam chain, at 163,000km, it was worn 8 mm longer than anew chain, and I had only 3mm of CCT adjustment left
Well, if I ever get to 125,000 miles I will replace my CCT again AND the cam chain. {I put a green/blue dot CCT in at 50,000m}.