Emergency Toolkit - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 27Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 10:02 AM Thread Starter
Trainee Sport Tourer

Emergency Toolkit

I'm curious what you all are using for an emergency toolkit and how you were able to pack it onto the bike. I've never done any kind of touring riding before but I know how things have a tendency to break so I'd like to be prepared to correct simple issues on the side of the road. (FWIW I'm pretty mechanical and have a lot of experience with cars but not so much motorcycles.)

I'd like to put together a basic toolkit to leave with the bike at all times, preferably arranged in a way that fits underneath the seats so I don't need to fight with them when not in use. Let me know what you think of my proposed kit and if you have any recommendations. If possible I'll try to keep everything in a bag or two and probably inside a ziplock to keep the moisture at bay. Depends how creative I need to get to make everything fit.

Folding metric allen key set
Reversible screwdriver with #1 and #2 phillips and flat heads
Diagonal cutters and electrical tape
A couple feet of 16 gauge wire and some crimp caps. Not ideal but enough to patch a rubbed through wire with relative ease/reliability.
ZIP TIES!
Smaller adjustable wrench and similarly sized pair of vicegrips. I opt for vicegrips over pliers as they can be used to pinch a leaking brake hose or hard line and are still relatively as useful as pliers, though maybe a bit clunkier.
Tire plug kit. (is an automotive plug kit fine or is there something better for a bike?) I wouldn't plan on riding long term with a plug, more of a get home or to shop depending on how far away I am.
Tire pressure gauge.

I'm fairly confident all of this would fit under the seats. Even if it took keeping things separated into smaller ziplock baggies and shoehorning them in that's fine.