Hola, ¿Cómo está? - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-25-2020, 11:30 PM Thread Starter
Training wheels fitted!

Hola, ¿Cómo está?

OK, that's about the extent of my Spanish. LOL

Hello all. Thanks for putting this forum together. Seems like a great group of folks on here.

I'm 46, a father of four and grandfather of seven, with another granddaughter arriving any day now.

I'm new to the FJR, but not new to motorcycles. Good thing too since this is a beast of a machine! I really wasn't expecting a superbike with luggage, but that's what I got. My old '83 GS850G is a great bike, but it's getting a little long in the tooth. As my primary ride, I've put nearly 30K miles on the 850 in the last four years. In that time I also had a KLX400, KLR650 and a DL1000 each having a short stay in my garage. They were bought and sold for various reasons. The ADV bikes didn't really keep my attention for long. The V-Strom DL1000 was more of a touring bike than an ADV bike, IMHO, but didn't really fit me. I suppose I'm always trying to scratch a particular itch.

I love the 400-500 mile day trips around NM, but plan on much longer, multi day trips in the near future so I recently started looking for something more suited to hit the interstate. I had been keeping an eye out for a Honda ST1100 when I came acrossed this FJR. I really didn't know much about the FJR, but three friends have owned them and highly recommended them.

An ad showed up on Craigslist last Sunday afternoon and I called the owner within an hour of it being posted. I went to look at the bike and visited with the seller for quite a while. He seemed to have taken good care of the FJR, showing me reciepts for maintenance dating back to 2012. I made arrangements to come back the next day for it.