Adding an R to my FJ - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-12-2019, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Training wheels fitted!

Adding an R to my FJ

Hello all. Mike here, I am a long time FJ owner. Original owner an 86 FJ1200. The best looking model . I 'm in process of purchasing a 2015 FJR1300A. Looks to be in very good condition with 17K. I'm holding on to the FJ, love that bike. What a reliable bike! Its only down when I want to mess with it. I hope to do a front end conversion, which will take me some time. With the second bike I can spend some quality time "working" on the FJ. I hate when its down, want to ride. I am a intermediate mechanic at best. I can do maintenance and bolt on stuff. I am member of the FJ forum, the best thing I ever did to enhance my FJ experience, more importantly the friends I have made.
My immediate concern with the FJR is, well, being a munchkin, I'm on tippy toes while at stop. I really need to lower this bike. I'll learn to search this site, I imagine there are post on this topic. I have seen lower kits on line. Appreciate if anyone can share some advice or positive results on lowering their FJR.
Happy to be here and look forward experiencing a bike built in this millennia.

Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-12-2019, 04:13 PM
High-G FJR Junkie!

Congrats and welcome Mike! Just ride it for a while. Even a 1/4" lower can make a big difference, ensure the seat is in the lower position, narrower at the front would be nice, and perhaps try lowering the front end 1/2" by moving the forks up in the triple clamps. That will make it handle more sportier, so be aware of that.
I'm not sure what seat you have, assuming stock, it needs help, on the cheap, you can remove the cover and flatten the hump out of it, and put the cover back on. Some tactical boots will help also.
Let us know how you progress.

Ray
Keep yer stick on the ice....