Whatís Your Favorite Jacket - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2020, 11:37 PM Thread Starter
Farkle Trainee

Whatís Your Favorite Jacket

Ok this has got to be safer than an oil or tire thread. What’s your favorite riding jacket and why? We’re all different shapes and sizes and we live in different climates so clearly there is no right or wrong answer. Hi Vis yes or no?

For me it’s a Tourmaster Transition 5 for most riding in WI. Works well in most weather conditions and it’s comfortable 35-90 degrees. It’s the jacket I always wear on long road trips too. I have a Tourmaster/Cortech VRX I wear in FL as it’s better for warm weather. I had an Aerostich Roadcrafter Jacket for about 2 years. It was great quality but somehow it was never comfortable enough. There was nothing I didn’t like about it but I was always fussy wearing it and always thinking about it when I had it on. A good jacket to me is one you never think about when it’s on.

Last edited by Donk; 02-13-2020 at 11:42 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-14-2020, 12:34 AM
Training wheels fitted!

So I'm on the forum this evening looking for an appropriate thread/post to boast a little on my recent jacket score, and your post pops up. Back to Team Blue after many years on Team Halloween (Black & Orange). Have many Team Halloween costumes, so figured I needed something appropriate to wear on the FJR. Searching our local C-List I found a new/old stock Yamaha Racing jacket, about the same vintage as my bike. It's a nice looking, heavy leather jacket, with CE armor in the elbows, shoulders, and a back pad. For $100 + shipping I couldn't pass it up. Whether it becomes my "favorite" jacket remains to be seen. Other than the branding it is very similar in design, and construction to my favorite H-D FXRG jacket, that I have had for 15+ years (without the dead bugs, and wear).

~Yeah, I'm a Boomer. You got a problem with that?!~