Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums - View Single Post - New to me '05 FJR
View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-14-2020, 02:45 AM Thread Starter
David Shelton
Farkle Trainee

Garage
New to me '05 FJR

This could be too long for some, so skip to the second main paragraph for my bike ?'s please. I am located in Danville KY if any other riders local.

Hello fellow 2 wheel addicts, first time Yamaha owner, first official post, haven't been able to even lurk as it has taken me numerous attempts to get back in to this account. I ran across this group some time back when I started researching about the mighty FJR. A little bit about me, I have been riding off and on for 45 years total. Started on a Honda Elsinore MR50 that I got at the age of 4 and my sanity has never been the same without having a bike. Fast forward and went into the Air Force at 18, injured at 21, and out of the service at 24. Messed up my back and shoulders pretty bad. Picked riding back up in 2003 when I bought a 2003 Honda Magna, spent a fortune on engine/suspension mods having a blast with it. Pulled it out of the garage spring of '07 made it 1 mile and barely made it back the same way. Now I was never one to slow down through out my life or live any other way than wide open, and I have spent the early part of the 2000's pissed off and angry with myself because I never did slow down and had to learn or become permanently paralyzed or wheel chair bound to get around. Fast forward to the last 5 years or so, and I got so good at sitting around and doing nothing I've watched life go by as I have been raising my 20 year old daughter on my own with no help from anyone. She's managed to turn out alright for having a grumpy old goat doing it. LOL For the last 2-3 years, I have been obsessing about a new toy...a boat? a jet ski? a trike? So then I got to wanting a Can Am Spyder, probably the most sensible decision I SHOULD have made, but tired of not enjoying the freedom or two wheel therapy