FJR Owners Forum banner

Oil recommendation?

79K views 184 replies 41 participants last post by  hANNAbONE 
#1 ·
Good morning fellas,

Since I am new to this bike (I have a bunch of older V4's), I was wondering what is the most recommended oil for the FJR and oil change intervals. I think they intervals tend to be higher with the synthetic oil? And how many quarts?

Thanks in advance

Mike

#2 · (Edited)
Read your owner's manual.

Read the innumerable oil related threads on this and other motorcycle forums.

Realize that just about everything you read on a forum is anecdotal and should be taken with a huge grain of salt. When someone posts, "I've been using XXXX oil for xx,000 miles and it works great!" it means nothing of real substance.

Read your owner's manual. Learn to understand what oil specifications mean and which oils are okay in your bike and which are not. Buy an acceptable oil.... use it.

If you really want to know how long you can safely run an oil in your bike, then send in a sample to a reputable lab and learn the facts about your oil in your bike.

#5 ·
As long as the oil is MA/MA2 certified, it will not make any real difference whether the oil is dino or synthetic.

Because the FJR also has a wet clutch, you need to avoid oil that contains a friction modifier.

I happen to use Shell Rotella T6 5W-40, but that is just a preference. If I were somewhere I had to change the oil and it wasn't available, I wouldn't worry about using something else.

#6 ·
To get the job done today, head to a local auto parts store and get, as mentioned, oil that is MA/MA2 certified motorcycle oil, OR, as mentioned Rotella T6 (not motorcycle oil but has no friction modifiers). Full-Synthetics are fine! As long as MA/MA2 or higher and there are no friction modifiers (labeled "fuel saving") are present. You'll be GREAT!

#9 ·
Sorry for the response above to Kevin (Pterodactul)...I just worked a 14 hour shift and I am cranky and tired. thanks for the input all.

#10 ·
#11 ·