Quick Delkevic 18inch ovals review... - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
Farkle Trainee

Quick Delkevic 18inch ovals review...

I pulled the trigger on a set of Delkevic 18inch ovals (carbon fiber wrap) version. Since I make my living with my ears, i figured id post a little review from my ride. Weight savings is over 10lbs for the swap from stock... probably about 12? Visually IMHO a VAST improvement over stock... I’ll attach a pic. Cans sound tuned... not crazy loud, but definitely not stock. I’m guessing riders of a bike such as the fjr would all pretty much be wearing earplugs when they ride, but if you don’t, the loudness at idle might bother you. Its a 1.3 liter engine and you are very aware of that when it’s idling.... you can feel it in your body when you’re standing next to it. Oddly enough it doesn’t drone at all while riding, and sounds ballsy, but not crazy loud at full throttle. In my opinion its loudest at idle, but that could be wind noise diverting my attention. I’ll try with the battles in today, just for fun. Feels smoother through the “flat spot” in the rpms. Other than that no major difference.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg C6556B7F-BA08-4AA3-BAF6-95314998FEA2_1593612873332.jpg (315.5 KB, 34 views)
FJRChuck, MrPalms, zwartie and 2 others like this.

1994 Honda VFR750 custom streetfighter
2015 Yamaha FJR1300A
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 11:23 AM
High-G FJR Junkie!

I always thought the Delks sound the best as in a bit more classy. Baffles in on other bikes I have heard, I like that even better, just a wee bit more subtle.

Ray
Keep yer stick on the ice....
2014 FJR1300A - Root Beer (sold)
2009 CBF1000A - Sienna Red
1999 VFR800Fi - Pearl Shining Yellow
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 11:40 AM
Farkle Trainee

How is the clearance to the bottom of the saddlebags?