Oil recommendation? - Yamaha FJR Forum : Yamaha FJR Owners Forums
 78Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 118 (permalink) Old 01-28-2017, 09:09 AM Thread Starter
Trainee Sport Tourer

Garage
Oil recommendation?

Good morning fellas,

Since I am new to this bike (I have a bunch of older V4's), I was wondering what is the most recommended oil for the FJR and oil change intervals. I think they intervals tend to be higher with the synthetic oil? And how many quarts?

Thanks in advance

Mike

"Catching a yellow jacket in your shirt at 70 mph can double your vocabulary."

"Teach your children the love of motorcycles and they will never have money for drugs"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 118 (permalink) Old 01-28-2017, 09:38 AM
FJR Top Gun

Garage
Read your owner's manual.

Read the innumerable oil related threads on this and other motorcycle forums.

Realize that just about everything you read on a forum is anecdotal and should be taken with a huge grain of salt. When someone posts, "I've been using XXXX oil for xx,000 miles and it works great!" it means nothing of real substance.

Read your owner's manual. Learn to understand what oil specifications mean and which oils are okay in your bike and which are not. Buy an acceptable oil.... use it.

If you really want to know how long you can safely run an oil in your bike, then send in a sample to a reputable lab and learn the facts about your oil in your bike.

Kevin
Tm Pterodactyl MT Outpost

Last edited by Pterodactyl; 01-28-2017 at 10:23 AM.
post #3 of 118 (permalink) Old 01-28-2017, 10:00 AM
Farkle Trainee

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pterodactyl View Post

If you really want to know how long you can safely run an oil in your bike, then send in a sample to a reputabe lab and learn the facts about your oil in your bike.
In my case, they said 10 000 miles
SBPAjonesy likes this.

Steve

2005 Yamaha FJR1300A

post #4 of 118 (permalink) Old 01-28-2017, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Trainee Sport Tourer

Garage
Quote: